## **Alaska Telecom Association**

Michael Burke President 201 E. 56<sup>th</sup> Avenue, Suite 114 Anchorage, AK 99518 (907) 563-4000 www.alaskatel.org Christine O'Connor Executive Director

August 15, 2022

Ms. Marlene Dortch Secretary Federal Communications Commission 45 L Street NE Washington, DC 20554

RE: Ex parte filing in WC Docket No. 16-271 and WC Docket No. 10-90

Dear Ms. Dortch:

On August 9, 2022, Christine O'Connor of the Alaska Telecom Association, Mike Garrett & Zach Layman of Alaska Power & Telephone, Roy Wrazen of Bushtel, Michael Burke of Matanuska Telecom Association, Jens Laipenieks & Thomas Lochner of Arctic Slope Telephone Association Cooperative, Heather Cavanaugh & Patrick Bergt of Alaska Communications, Doug Minster of ATN, Becky Windt-Pearson & Juliana Wayman of GCI, Sarah Kathrein of Cordova Telecom, Kelly Williams of OTZ Telephone Cooperative, Dan Lindgren of KPU Telecom, Earl Hubb of Bristol Bay Telephone Cooperative met in person and via videoconference with Commissioner Brendan Carr and his policy advisor, Gregory Watkins.

The group discussed the success of the Alaska Plan in supporting the operation, upgrade, and expansion of both fixed and mobile telecommunication services in Alaska. While new federal infrastructure programs promise to extend broadband infrastructure throughout Alaska, the Alaska Plan plays a critical role supporting sustainability and affordability of broadband service. It is critical to develop a path forward which will extend the term of the Alaska Plan, adjust support levels to account for inflation, and adopt individual performance obligations calibrated to diverse circumstances.

Respectfully submitted,

Via ECFS 8/15/2022

Christine O'Connor Executive Director

cc: Commissioner Brendan Carr

**Gregory Watkins**